Keyword Site Search

2014 HortScholars Announced

AmericanHort, a national horticultural trade association, has announced six students as 2014 HortScholars.
Credit: AmericanHort

AmericanHort has selected six students to serve as the 2014 HortScholars. The goal of the program is to provide students with an enriching professional development experience that increases their knowledge, industry awareness, and career enthusiasm.

2014 HortScholars
o Marie Arnold, The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute
o Nicholas Flax, Iowa State University
o Jessica Kivett, Kansas State University
o Justin Kondrat, Cornell University
o Katie Nickolaus, Michigan State University
o James Sacco, University of Massachusetts Amherst

HortScholars will be on-site at Cultivate'14 (July 12-15 in Columbus, Ohio) and receive complimentary Cultivate registration, lodging, and meals. Additionally, they will receive a complimentary one-year AmericanHort membership.

On-site at Cultivate'14, HortScholars will assist the Generation Next Community with events, conduct presentations that share their insight into industry issues, attend the exhibitions and educational sessions, meet with industry mentors, and network at various social events.

The HortScholars Program is open to undergraduate and graduate students attending 2- and 4-year colleges and universities throughout the United States who are majoring in horticulture or a related field and have a minimum GPA of 3.0. Students must complete an online application and submit one faculty letter of recommendation. Up to six students are selected each year.

For more information about AmericanHort or HortScholars, please visit

Association news and events are listed at To view the calendar of upcoming events, visit, go to the Associations/Events'' tab and click on ''Search for Events.''

If your association has news and/or events that you would like featured on, please send your information via email to

Comment Form is loading comments...

Related Stories

October 13, 2019, 6:55 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy