Keyword Site Search

APA Announces 2005 National Planning Award Recipients

WASHINGTON, DC- The American Planning Association (APA) has announced the winners of its 2005 National Planning Awards. These awards honor the cutting-edge achievements of the planning profession and those involved in creating communities of lasting value. More than 125 entries were received this year.

"Across America, people are demanding clean air and water, broader choices in housing and transportation and a louder voice in the future of their communities," said APA Executive Director Paul Farmer, AICP.

The 2005 recipients will be honored at a special awards luncheon March 22 during the APA National Planning Conference in San Francisco. A total of 15 awards will be given including the Secretary's Opportunity and Empowerment Award, in conjunction with the U.S. Housing and Urban Development, which will be announced early next year. The recipients include:

  • Outstanding Planning Award for a Plan: The Queen City Hub: Regional Action Plan for Downtown Buffalo (Buffalo, New York).
  • Outstanding Planning Award for a Special Community Initiative: Atchison Riverfront Park (Atchison, Kansas).
  • Outstanding Planning Award for Implementation: Extending the Vision for South Broad Street - Building Philadelphia's Avenue of the Arts in the 21st Century (Philadelphia).
  • Outstanding Planning Award for a Program/Plan/Tool: City of Santa Cruz Accessory Dwelling Unit Development Program (Santa Cruz, California)
  • Current Topic Award: Safe Growth: The National Capital Urban Design and Security Plan (Washington, D.C.).
  • Public Education Award: The Green Valley Institute (Brooklyn, Connecticut).
  • Daniel Burnham Award: The Santa Monica Mountains Conservancy (Los Angeles).
  • Distinguished Leadership Award for an Elected Official: Commissioner Ron Stewart (Boulder, Colorado).
  • Distinguished Leadership Award for a Professional Planner: Naphtali H. Knox, AICP (Palo Alto, California).
  • Distinguished Leadership Award for a Citizen Planner: Judith A. Corbett (Sacramento).
  • Distinguished Leadership Award for a Student Planner: Elizabeth FitzZaland (Cal Poly University, San Luis Obispo, California).
  • National Social Advocacy Award (in honor of Paul Davidoff): Women Resident Activists at Wentworth Gardens: Chicago Public Housing Development (Chicago).
  • National Social Advocacy Award (in honor of Paul Davidoff): Thomas R. Knoche (Camden, New Jersey).
  • National Women in Planning Award (in honor of Diana Donald): Margarita Piel McCoy, FAICP (LaHabra Heights, California).

Search Site by Story Keywords

Related Stories

June 26, 2019, 11:58 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy