Keyword Site Search

ASLA 2018 Honors Recipients
Sixteen Awards Given


Each of the award recipients has supplemental information, including letters of recommendation, previous employment history and prior awards received, provided on the ASLA website.

The board of trustees for the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) selected 16 distinguished professionals from across the country to receive honorary medals of recognition. While the winners have already been announced, the medals will be handed out during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO, October 19-22 in Philadelphia.

Linda Jewell, FASLA, was bestowed this year's ASLA Medal, the highest award. She was the first woman to chair in the Department of Landscape Architecture at Harvard, was a tenured professor at UC Berkeley and helped form the College of Environmental Design there.

Andropogon Associates, a landscape architecture firm founded in 1975 and located in Philadelphia, won the Landscape Architecture Firm Award. This is the highest recognition that the ASLA bestows upon a firm and is awarded due to "distinguished work that influences the profession."

Other honorary award recipients are:
ASLA Design Medal: Mikyoung Kim, FASLA
Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Patrick Miller, FASLA
LaGasse Medal - Landscape Professional: Scott Bradley, FASLA
LaGasse Medal - Non-Landscape Professional: David Archambault
Olmsted Medal: Forterra
Medal of Excellence: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collections

Several non-architect, ASLA members were also recognized for their notable service to the profession. Since 1899, ASLA has only inducted 223 honorary members, and this year the following people were inaugurated:
Ann Breen, Co-Founder and Co-Director, The Waterfront Center
Philip Enquist, FAIA, Urban Design and Planning Partner, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
James Garland, AIA, Founder, Fluidity Design Consultants
Dan Gottlieb, Director of Planning, Design & Museum Park, North Carolina Museum of Art
Carolyn Mitchell, former Honors and Awards Specialist, American Society of Landscape
Michael Reynolds, Superintendent, Yosemite National Park, National Park Service
Dick Rigby, Co-Founder and Co-Director, The Waterfront Center
Carol Ross Barney, FAIA, Founder, Ross Barney Architects

More information on the award recipients can be found here:

Widget is loading comments...

Search Site by Story Keywords

August 24, 2019, 12:17 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy