Keyword Site Search

WASHINGTON--The Board of Trustees of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has selected the recipients of the 2003 Medals and Firm Award, to be presented during the ASLA Annual Meeting, October 30-November 3, in New Orleans. Richard Haag, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Medal, which is the highest honor the ASLA may bestow upon a landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and the environment. Lawrence Halprin, FASLA, has been selected as the first recipient of the new ASLA Design Medal recognizing an individual landscape architect who has produced a body of exceptional design work at a sustained level for a period of at least ten years. Just a few notable examples of his work include the master plan for the Seattle Center, the Seattle World's Fair, Sea Ranch, Ghiradelli Square, Yerba Buena Gardens, and portions of the BART System in San Francisco and Freeway Park in Seattle Craig W. Johnson, ASLA, will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Medal for his sustained and significant contribution to landscape architecture education. Professor Johnson has served on the faculty of the Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning at Utah State University for 37 years. John G. Parsons, FASLA, has been selected to receive the LaGasse Medal in the Landscape Architect Category. This award recognizes landscape architects who have made notable contributions to the management and conservancy of natural resources and/or public lands. Joseph T. Edmiston, FAICP, will receive the Lagasse Medal in the Non-landscape Architect Category. A native of Southern California, Mr. Edmiston received his undergraduate education at East Los Angeles College and the University of Southern California. As Executive Director of the Santa Monica Mountains Comprehensive Planning Commission he helped enact the Santa Monica Mountains Comprehensive Plan that set land use policies for local governments to follow. The National Capital Planning Commission (NCPC) will receive the Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence for its significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning, and design. Established in 1924, Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., has been selected to receive the ASLA's Olmsted Medal, recognizing his sustained environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The new ASLA Firm Award recognizes landscape architecture firms that have produced bodies of distinguished work influencing the professional practice of landscape architecture for a sustained period of at least ten years. The first recipient will be Jones & Jones of Seattle, WA. Firm principals Grant Jones, FASLA, and Ilze Jones, FASLA, met in the late fifties as classmates in the Department of Architecture at the University of Washington and founded their own firm in 1969 to practice landscape architecture, environmental planning, architecture, and urban design as a fully integrated collaborative. Signature projects include: the Nooksack River Plan; the Pioneer Square Historic District; the Woodland Park Zoo; the Portland International Airport Parkway; the San Diego Zoo; the Singapore Botanic Gardens; the North Carolina Botanic Gardens; the Jerusalem Zoo; Disney's Wild Kingdom in Orlando; Paris Pike Historic Highway in Kentucky; DMZ Biosphere Peace Corridor in Korea; Tepotzotlan: Mexico City Green Lung Plan; the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian; and Ice Age Floods National Geologic Trail from Montana to Oregon

Search Site by Story Keywords

Related Stories

May 19, 2019, 8:30 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.