Keyword Site Search

ASLA Selects 2004 Medal and Firm Award Recipients

Peter Walker, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Medal for lifetime achievement.

The ASLA Board has announced its annual Medal and Firm awards to be presented November 1, 2004 at the association's national meeting, this year in Salt Lake City.

ASLA Medal ---Peter Walker, FASLA, for lifetime achievement Mr. Walker and his friend and mentor, Hideo Sasaki, FASLA, created Sasaki, Walker and Associates, which evolved into the SWA Group. He has been chairman of the landscape architecture department and acting director of the urban design program at Harvard's Graduate School of Design. He was head of the department of landscape architecture at the University of California at Berkeley and is currently the Glimcher professor at Ohio State University's School of Landscape Architecture. Most recently, Mr. Walker partnered with architect Michael Arad to win the commission for the World Trade Center Memorial.

ASLA Design Medal-- M. Paul Friedberg, FASLA, for exceptional accomplishments in design Mr. Friedberg's projects have been recognized with 85 national and international awards. He is noted for the landscape model for low-income housing (Riis Plaza) on New York's Lower East Side, and downtown plaza design, including Pershing Park in Washington, DC; Peavy Plaza in Minneapolis; and Olympic Plaza in Calgary, Canada. Recently, Mr. Friedberg has collaborated on Battery Park City World Financial Plaza in New York City; the Fulton County Government Center in Atlanta, Georgia; and Transpotomac Canal Center in Alexandria, Virginia.

Jot D. Carpenter Medal--Marvin Adleman, FASLA, for sustained and significant contributions to landscape architecture education

Marvin Adleman, FASLA, of Cornell, will be honored for his contributions to landscape architecture education.

Professor Adleman joined the Cornell faculty in 1972 as head of the landscape architecture program, with the encouragement of the late Jot Carpenter. Adleman built a department considered one of the foremost undergraduate and graduate programs in the nation. He continues to carry a large teaching load and advises students.

LaGasse Medal (landscape architecture category)--James Bedwell, ASLA, leadership in management and conservancy of natural resources and public lands The LaGasse Medal is in honor of the late Alfred LaGasse, a former ASLA executive vice president who championed management of public lands and natural resources. Mr. Bedwell began his career with the U.S. Forest Service in 1979. He was its chief landscape architect from 1996 through 2000, lauded for his leadership in outdoor recreation accessibility, scenic byways, scenery management, and providing the tools and resources to the more than 300 LAs who work for the Forest Service. He also helped develop the Forest Service's Built Environment Image Guide. He is now the forest supervisor for the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests and Pawnee National Grassland in Northeast Colorado.

LaGasse Medal (non-landscape architect category)--Virginia Anderson, achievements in the management of natural resources and public lands Virginia Anderson is the director of the 87-acre park-like Seattle Center in Washington state. Appointed in 1988 to preserve the 1962 World's Fair site and to create new facilities, she lead over 100 community meetings to develop a master plan. The Seattle Center is now home to ballet, opera, and theatre companies; three professional sports teams; 23 cultural festivals; three museums; a public high school; an amusement park; a skateboard park; the Space Needle; the monorail; and 23 acres of open space.

Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence--The Urban Land Institute, significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning and design Founded in 1936, ULI has a membership of 20,000 professionals, including landscape architects, who help direct and influence land usage with an eye to environmental impact. The ASLA asserts that "ULI members are community builders who develop, own, or enhance the value of more than 80 percent of the U.S. commercial property market."

Olmsted Medal--Joseph Riley Jr., Honorary ASLA, environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship Joseph Riley Jr., has been the mayor of Charleston, SC, for 30 years. He has earned acclaim for revitalizing the city's downtown area and restoring the city's rich design heritage, while carefully planning for future development. Mayor Riley has worked to restore parks and create new projects to draw people back to the waterfront. As president of the U.S. Conference of Mayors, he created the Mayor's Institute for City Design to provide basic design education for hundreds of mayors, showing them how to shape and protect the public realm and improve people's lives.

Landscape Architecture Firm Award--Wallace Roberts & Todd, LLC, distinguished work influencing the professional practice of landscape architecture For 41 years, WRT's landscape architects, architects, urban designers, and planners have collaborated on public and private sector projects. Beginning in 1963 with Ian McHarg, FASLA, and William Roberts, FASLA, two of the firm's founding principals, and through a new generation of landscape architect principals, WRT has maintained a position of international prominence in the advocacy and practice of environmentally responsible design. WRT has won 132 awards for planning and design excellence. The firm has offices in Philadelphia, Lake Placid, Coral Gables, Dallas, San Diego, and San Francisco.

Search Site by Story Keywords

Related Stories

June 17, 2019, 8:43 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy