Keyword Site Search

Brick Association Announces 2014 Design Award Winners

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) declared 40 winners in the 2014 Brick in Architecture awards, honoring the best in brick design across North America. Best in Class winners included Sundance Square in Fort Worth, Texas, where a new plaza and two sustainable mixed use office buildings bookend the city's emerging downtown development. The project features extensive use of clay brick and complementary masonry like granite and cast stone, which blend with each other and the existing site. Two historic brick buildings were preserved and incorporated in the project.

The BIA, which is celebrating 25 years since its inception, saw a spike in submittals for the Brick in
Architecture Awards this year with more than 150 entries. The 40 projects span 22 states and Canada,
according to a July 2 release.

Best in Class winners by category included Sundance Square in Fort Worth, Texas (Commercial), Back
of the Yards Preparatory High School in Chicago, Ill. (K-12 Education), the Tozzer Anthropology Building
in Cambridge, Mass. (Higher Education), Mercy Health West Hospital in Cincinnati, Ohio (Healthcare), Shelbyville Fire Station #2 in Shelbyville, Ind. (Muncipal/Govt.), One Loudoun Plaza in Ashburn, Va. (Paving and Landscape Architecture), Thurston Wine House in Paradise Valley, Ariz. (Renovation/Restoration), Millennium Place in Boston, Mass. (Multi-Family Residential), and Indigo House in Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada (Single-Family Residential).

Architecture completed since January 1, 2009, was eligible if clay brick products comprised the predominant exterior building or more than 50 percent of the paving material. These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units.

The projects were selected by a panel of independent industry judges, including Beth Greenberg, Dattner Architects; Evan Gunn, The Clark Enersen Partners; Charles Hilton, Charles Hilton Architects; Imran Kifayat, The Preston Partnership; Marlan Laurenzi, Franck + Lohsen Architects; Jeffrey Lee, Clark Nexen / Pearce Brinkley Cease + Lee; Dominic LoGalbo, Harding Partners; Jon Moore, Moore2Design, LLC; Hamid Noughani, Assemblage Architects; Paul Urbanek, SmithGroupJJR; Tim Wise, American Structurepoint and Al York, McKinney York Architects.

Project images and the complete list of winners are available on the BIA's website.

Comment Form is loading comments...

Search Site by Story Keywords

Related Stories

August 24, 2019, 10:42 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy