Keyword Site Search

Eight States Sue the EPA Over Air Pollution
From Upwind Midwest States


New York is one of the eight northeastern states to file a lawsuit against the Environmental Protection Agency to overturn a decision regarding air pollution from states in the Midwest.

Eight states along the East Coast have filed a lawsuit against the Environmental Protection Agency over pollution coming from the Midwest.

The lawsuit, dated Dec. 22, calls for the EPA to set stricter controls on the pollution of Midwest states which the eight states say is being blown into their area, according to Reuters.

New York, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont asked the EPA in 2013 to add nine Midwest states to the "Ozone Transport Region."

States that fall under the OTR are required by the Clear Air Act to control pollutants that create ozone emissions, which are harmful to air quality.

In October 2017, the EPA denied the petition from the northeastern states to add Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia to the OTR.

The lawsuit asks the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia to overturn the EPA's decision.

The EPA has not issued a statement regarding the lawsuit.

Comment Box is loading comments...

Search Site by Story Keywords

August 20, 2019, 6:44 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy