Keyword Site Search

LAF Announces 2014 Olmsted Winners

LAF has announced the 2014 Olmsted Winners, including Sara Zewde (top), a master's student at the Harvard Graduate School of Design and Erin Percevault (bottom), an undergraduate at Louisiana State University.
Photo: Landscape Architecture Foundation

The Landscape Architecture Foundation has announced two winners and six finalists for the 2014 Olmsted Scholars Program, a national award and recognition program for landscape architecture students.

Sara Zewde, a master's student at the Harvard Graduate School of Design, was selected as the 2014 National Olmsted Scholar and recipient of the $25,000 graduate prize. She intends to use the award to return to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and New Orleans, Louisiana to continue working with the communities of Pequena Africa and Treme in designing their urban landscapes in a culturally and ecologically relevant manner. Sara expects to receive a Master of Landscape Architecture in May 2015.

Erin Percevault, an undergraduate at Louisiana State University, is the other 2014 National Olmsted Scholar and recipient of the $15,000 undergraduate prize. Erin plans to use the award to investigate how thorium extraction in Lemhi Pass, a National Historic Landmark along the wildlife corridor between Yellowstone National Park and central Idaho, can be tailored to local ecologies to minimize exposure of both wilderness areas and local communities to toxic externalities. Erin is pursuing a Bachelor of Landscape Architecture and expects to graduate May in 2015.

Also honored are six National Olmsted Scholar Finalists, who each received a $1,000 award. The graduate finalists are:

  • VeraEve Giampietro, University of Washington
  • Harriett Jameson, University of Virginia
  • Anneliza Kaufer, University of Pennsylvania
The undergraduate finalists are:
  • Viviana Castro, University of Florida
  • Clemente Rico, Arizona State University
  • Blythe Worstell, Ohio State University
Two independent juries of leaders in the landscape architecture profession selected the winners and finalists from a group of 45 graduate and 30 undergraduate students nominated by their faculty for their exceptional leadership potential. These top students earned the designation of 2014 University Olmsted Scholars and join the growing community of over 300 past and present Olmsted Scholars.

"The Landscape Architecture Foundation is delighted to recognize and support these exceptional young leaders who will be the next generation of designers, spokespeople, and change agents to lead and advance the landscape architecture profession," said LAF Executive Director Barbara Deutsch.

Now in its seventh year, the Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible through the generous support of Lead Sponsor: The Toro Company; Annual Sponsors: EDSA, HOK, OLIN, Sasaki Associates, and Thomas C. and Gerry D. Donnelly; Promotion Partner: American Society of Landscape Architects.

For more information about the winners, please click here.

Association news and events are listed at To view the calendar of upcoming events, visit, go to the Associations/Events" tab and click on "Search for Events."

If your association has news and/or events that you would like featured on, please send your information via email to

Widget is loading comments...

Related Stories

October 13, 2019, 6:46 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy