Keyword Site Search

LAF Presents Inaugural Awards--'Medal' and 'Founders'
Inaugural Awards


Grant Jones, FASLA, is the inaugural recipient of the LAF Medal.


LAF's first Founders' Award goes to the American Society of Landscape Architects. Pictured is the ASLA green roof in Washington, D.C.
Photo: ASLA

Grant Jones is cofounder and principle emeritus of Jones & Jones (, a multidisciplinary firm of architects and landscape architects in Seattle. LAF notes that Jones has practiced and preached ecological design for more than 30 years. Jones' and his colleagues scope of work has included education centers; campuses; community architecture; scenic conservation; regional and community planning; conservation-based development; eco and agri-tourism; transportation corridors; parks and greenways; community revitalization; cultural centers and museums; heritage landscapes; and wildlife conservation (specialized habitat design, zoo and botanical garden planning and design).

Over the years Jones has brought his passion and expertise to many signature Jones & Jones projects: The Paris Pike Historic Highway in Kentucky; the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum in Tuscon; Disney's Animal Kingdom in Orlando; the Mountains-to-Sound Greenway in Washington; Commons Park in Denver; and America's first wildlife highway, U.S. Highway 93 through the Flathead Reservation in western Montana.

Jones received his bachelor of architecture from the University of Washington, followed by a postgraduate course in Theodore Roethke's verse writing class during Roethke's Poet in Residence tenure at the University of Washington. He received his MLA from Harvard's School of Design, where he won the Frederick Sheldon Traveling Fellowship to research environmental design adaptations in South America and Western Europe.

Jones is an affiliate professor at the University of Washington. He served on the LAF Board of Directors (1999-2007) as vice president of education. He has held academic positions at the University of California, Berkeley, Harvard, University of Oregon, the University of Virginia, Texas A&M, and Ohio State, and has lectured at 30 departments of landscape architecture.

LAF Founders' Award
LAF has also debuted its Founders' Award, an annual recognition of a firm, agency, or organization that demonstrates a significant commitment to preserving, creating, or enhancing landscapes over a sustained period of time. The award may be given to landscape architecture groups, but is not limited to the profession.

The inaugural Founders' Award goes to the American Society of Landscape Architects. ASLA is of course the national professional association for landscape architects, founded in 1899. Its mission is to "advance landscape architecture through advocacy, communication, education, and fellowship." ASLA reports it has 15,000 members, 49 state chapters (professional members), and 72 student chapters.

The LAF Founders' Award intent is to recognize firms, agencies or organizations for "significant commitment to preserving, creating, or enhancing landscapes over a sustained period of time."

Comment Box is loading comments...

Search Site by Story Keywords

Related Stories

May 19, 2019, 8:17 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.