Keyword Site Search

LASN January 2014 Movers & Shakers

Stephanie Landregan

Members of Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards have elected Stephanie Landregan as the organization's 49th president. In this role Landregan will serve as chair of the board of directors through September 30, 2014. She has held various leadership positions with CLARB since 2006 serving as president-elect, vice president, Region V Director and Region V Alternate Director as well as the CLARB Communications Committee Chairperson. Landregan has also served as a CLARB exam grader and as a member of the CLARB Nominations Committee and the CLARB Reciprocity Committee.


David A. Taylor, Jr.

Andy Bowden


David A. Taylor, Jr. was elected vice-chair to Landscape Architects Technical Committee. Taylor has been a licensed landscape architect since 2003. He currently works as a landscape architect for the city of Chula Vista, Calif. His knowledge and skill set comes as the result of his design and management of a wide range of projects including master planned developments, parks, playgrounds and open spaces, single and multi family residential developments, retail centers, and office campuses. Andy Bowden of Land Concern - Landscape Architecture was elected as chair of LATC for the coming year. He was appointed to the LATC for a three-year term last year by Governor Jerry Brown. His current term is due to expire in 2015. This is his second time being on the LATC, having been previously appointed in 2007. Bowden served on the committee from 2007 to 2010, as chair in 2010. He is also starting his final year as trustee for the Southern California Chapter ASLA, having served in this capacity for the last five years.


Netafim president Igal Aisenberg recently accepted the 2013 Stockholm Industry Water Award for the company's international efforts to mitigate world hunger. It's one of the world's largest irrigation companies and among the first irrigation manufacturers to win this prestigious award.

Netafim, among the world's largest irrigation companies, recently received the international 2013 Stockholm Industry Water Award. The award recognized efforts to mitigate world hunger through the efficient use of dripline irrigation in agricultural production. The commendation was presented to company president and CEO Igal Aisenberg at a World Water Week ceremony in the Swedish capital.


NK Mbaya

Andrew Spurlock

Spurlock Poirier -Landscape Architects, a San Diego firm known for its thoughtful, innovative landscape designs, has added NK Mbaya as marketing manager. She brings 13 years of experience and will apply her business development and quality control skills to the firm's marketing efforts. Her background of strategic management, problem solving and team leadership makes her a valuable member of the team. Two Spurlock Poirier projects, Fallen Star at UC San Diego and the U.S. Federal Courthouse Building in San Diego, have won Orchid Awards, with the former receiving the highest honor, the Grand Orchid. "One of our goals as a firm is to make meaningful contributions to our city through our designs, so it's gratifying to know the public finds enjoyment in them," said Andrew Spurlock, partner at the firm. The San Diego Architectural Foundation Orchids & Onions Awards are a San Diego tradition, going back nearly 40 years, to single out the best and worst of architecture, landscape architecture, public art and other design categories, starting with nominations from the public. Orchids represent the best in local architecture.


Brent Dezember


Mike Vaughn's conviction, steadfast work ethic and commitment to advancing the association and industry were all cited during the presentation of the Robert E. Yoakum Award.


Brent Dezember, founder, owner and president of StructureCast in Bakersfield, Calif., has been appointed National Precast Concrete Association 49th Chairman of the Board. Dezember began his one-year term on October 12, at the annual convention in Hot Springs, Va. In his speech, Dezember stated, "It is my goal to focus on NPCA's mission for the next 12 months and do what I can to help advance the industry within the boundaries of that mission." Mike Vaughn of Vaughn Concrete Products, Henderson, Colo., was presented with the precast industry's most prestigious award, the Robert E. Yoakum Award.


Susan Krzywicki

California Native Plant Society, a leader in conservation science and action, announced its new horticulture program director, Susan Krzywicki. She was selected due to her dedication to promoting native plant gardening and her success inspiring and teaching others. Krzywicki is already known by many in CNPS as an active volunteer and board member in the San Diego Chapter.


Nilay Mistry

Site design group, ltd., a landscape architecture and urban design firm in Chicago, added Nilay Mistry to its staff. He joins the team as a project manager and designer with a BLA from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and a master of landscape architecture from Harvard University. Mistry brings with him years of experience in practice with award-winning projects throughout the United States, Middle East and Southeast Asia.

Widget is loading comments...

Related Stories

October 17, 2019, 9:24 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy