Contacts
 






Keyword Site Search










'LAW' to Promote Practice Act in Washington State

SEATTLE– Members of the Washington chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects executive board endorsed a plan to upgrade the state licensure law to a practice act.

An organization called Landscape Architects of Washington (LAW) will be formed as a unique entity, separate from WASLA, to promote, lobby and implement a change to the current licensure law. The sole purpose of LAW is to develop, implement and enact a practice landscape architectural act in the state.

The goal of the group is to change, modify or rewrite the law to require registration for any person to practice, offer to practice landscape architecture or to use the title of landscape architect in the state. This will bring landscape architects to a similar recognition as other allied professionals. Other than Colorado, which has no landscape architecture law, Washington is the only state west of the Mississippi River without a practice act.

It is estimated that a change to the licensing law will require up to three years of coordinated and directed efforts of landscape architects throughout the state, and will include specific efforts in fundraising, law and language revisions, publicity, and other activities in support of the change.

LAW, while independent of WASLA to maintain a clear separation mission and dues collection, will be encouraged and financially supported by landscape architects and other organizations throughout the state, including WASLA.

For more information contact Robert Harding at bobh@dahogan.com.



A Look at State Continuing Education Requirements






Continuing education requirements vary depending on the state. Many landscape architects can earn credits at seminars and lectures like this one.


Currently 20 states have continuing education requirements for landscape architects. Mississippi has a voluntary program and nine states have statutory authority, but no requirements have been promulgated: Idaho, Indiana, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah and West Virginia. Idaho, Indiana, and North Dakota enacted "enabling" legislation last year.

The following is a state-by-state rundown of continuing education requirements:

  • Alabama: 15 professional development hours each year
  • Arkansas: 7 CEUs per year
  • Connecticut: 24 contact hours over two years
  • Delaware: 20 hours over two years
  • Florida: 16 hours over two years
  • Georgia: 12 contact hours over two years
  • Iowa: 36 contact hours over two years
  • Kansas: 30 PDH over two years
  • Kentucky: 15 CE hours each year
  • Minnesota: 24 PDH over two years
  • Mississippi: 24 CED over two years (voluntary)
  • Nebraska: 15 contact hours every year
  • New Jersey: 30 hours every two years
  • New Mexico: 30 contact hours every two years
  • North Carolina: 10 contact hours every year
  • Oklahoma: 24 CEUs every two years
  • Pennsylvania: 10 clock hours every two years
  • South Dakota: 30 PDH over two years
  • Tennessee: 24 PDH every two years
  • Texas: 8 CE program hours per year
  • Wyoming: 16 PDU every two years

Due to space limitations not all of the specific requirements are listed after each state, to view the specifics of your state visit www.asla.org/members/govtaffairs/licensure.



Search Site by Story Keywords



Related Stories



June 16, 2019, 10:36 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy