Keyword Site Search

February Movers and Shakers

Clyde Robbins


Dr. Clyde Robbins, director of design and construction at Appalachian State University, has received the President's Council Award from the North Carolina Association of Landscape Architects (NCASLA). The award recognizes an NCASLA member for major contributions to the achievement of the profession of landscape architecture in North Carolina over a minimum period of five years. Robbins came to Appalachian in 1993.

Crafton Tull Sparks celebrates 45 years of business. Founded in November of 1963 by Lem Tull and Bob Crafton, they merged with Gary Sparks' firm SPARKS in 2006. The combined firm now has offices in seven cities and is ranked 45th on The Zweig Letter's 2008 Hot Firm List, representing the 200 fastest-growing architecture, engineering, planning, and environmental firms in the United States or Canada.

David Chewey

David Chewey, chief landscape architect and president of Garden Associates Landscape Architecture, Inc., was chosen as one of two recipients of the Somerset County Business Partnership's 2008 Outstanding Business Person of the Year award. Chewey founded the business 19 years ago in the Whitehouse Station section of Readington.

With its 90th anniversary in 2009, Lambert's is the oldest design/build landscape architectural firm in Dallas and one of the third oldest still in existence in the country with maintenance and tree care divisions that focus on residential gardens of timeless designs and continuing its winning ways, Lambert Landscape Company won the most prestigious award and was named one of the premier winners at the 39th Annual Environmental Improvement Awards Program sponsored by the Professional.

Stephen Plunkard

Vermont landscape architect and planner Stephen Plunkard is heading south next week to help a Texas city revitalize its waterfront. A principal at planning and design firm Stantec, Plunkard is one of five consultants from around the country asked to help lead a community workshop aimed at creating a vision for Lake Worth in Fort Worth, Texas. He has led dozens of waterfront revitalization efforts over his 30-year career, including the Burlington, Vermont, waterfront, which is now a popular and well-used space in the city. He served on a similar design panel in 2006 in Gulfport, Mississippi, following the city's devastation after Hurricane Katrina.

Anthony Fasano

Maser Consulting P.A., one of New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania's leading engineering firms, is pleased to announce that Anthony Fasano, P.E., CPESC, LEED AP, an associate in the firm, recently earned LEED Professional Accreditation for new construction.

Paul Fields

Landcare Network (PLANET) was honored with the Judges Award for 2008, the highest award given, for its submission of a French Neo-Classical Garden, which also was one of three prestigious Grand Awards. Giardino Verde in the Residential Design/Build category and the Ashley Priddy Memorial Fountain in the Commercial Design/Build category also won Grand Awards. Representing Lambert's at the awards ceremony in Louisville, Kentucky, were Paul Fields, ASLA, president and director of design; Daniel L. Morgan, CEO and director of garden services; Lara Moffat, marketing & recruiting manager; and Mary Beth Riddle, enhancement manager.

The International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) Lifetime Service Award recognizes a member individual or organization's consistent and long-term achievements serving the association and the attractions industry. The 2008 Lifetime Service Award went to Dick Kinzel, chairman, president, and chief executive officer of Cedar Fair in Sandusky, Ohio, United States. The Outstanding Service Award was presented to John Collins of John Collins Leisure in Cotswolds, United Kingdom. The Meritorious Service Award was presented to Bob Logan of Innovative Leisure Partners in Houston, Texas, United States.

Paul Hindman

The Jane Silverstein Ries Foundation, announced that Paul Hindman of the Urban Drainage, Drainage and Flood Control District has been selected as the recipient of the 2008 JSR Award. Each year the JSR Foundation honors one individual, group or organization who demonstrates a pioneering sense of awareness and stewardship of the land in the Rocky Mountain region. The Jane Silverstein Ries Foundation is the charitable arm of the American Society of Landscape Architects - Colorado Chapter. The foundation honors pioneer landscape architect Jane Silverstein Ries, FASLA by promoting the quality of the built environment and the conservation and stewardship of our natural environment.

Joy Kuebler

Joy Kuebler, RLA, ASLA, founding principal of Joy Kuebler Landscape Architect, PC, is the recipient of the 2008 Joseph Siracuse Award, given by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Buffalo/WNY Chapter. An advocate of the greening of Western New York, Ms. Kuebler is active in numerous outreach efforts with neighborhood parks and gardens. She also serves as secretary for the American Society of Landscape Architects Upstate New York Chapter and as the vice chairperson for the North Tonawanda Planning Board.

The AIA's California Council presented an Honor Award for Urban Design to Culver-City, California based ah'be landscape architects for its streetscape for "South," the first new high-rise residential development in downtown Los Angeles in 23 years and a key part of its revitalization.

Search Site by Story Keywords

Related Stories

May 19, 2019, 8:29 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.