Keyword Site Search

Movers & Shakers

Industry Update

Michael Theilacker

Michael Theilacker, of Kawasaki, Theilacker & Associates was recently honored with the first “Alumnus of the Year” award by the Department of Landscape Architecture at California Polytechnic State, San Luis Obispo. Theilacker was selected because of his devotion of time and effort to the school of landscape architecture. He has guest-lectured and taught at the San Luis Obispo campus since 1970 and has practiced landscape architecture and urban planning in San Diego for the past 25 years.

Pat Higginbotham

Bill Mastick

Pat Higginbotham has been named an associate in Kawasaki, Theilacker & Associates. He is a project manager and a licensed architect and has been with the firm for eight years... Also named an associate is Bill Mastick. A project manager and licensed landscape architect, Mastick has directed such projects as the UCSD Magnetic Recording Research Facility, Torrey Pines High School Additions, Nobel Terrace and more. He has been with the firm for over three years.

Roger D. Fiske

Roger D. Fiske has been elected 1986 president of the CLCA. President of Fiske Landscaping, Inc., Danville, Fiske has been an active member for the past 23 years and served on the association’s board since 1982. He was president of the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter for two terms and assisted in the formation of the Fresno, Monterey, and San Francisco Bay Area/North chapters. Fiske has been instrumental on many advisory committees for programs and projects such as landscape training programs and an industry textbook published by the association in 1970. Fiske has two children and resides with his wife in San Ramon. Also elected to the executive board were vice presidents Nelson Colvin of California Landscape, Inc., Canoga Park; Richard Cohen of Richard Cohen Landscape and Construction, El Toro; Barry L. Cohen of B.L. Cohen Landscape, Inc., San Jose; and Jay West of Gardens West, Petaluma. Elected as treasure was Don Dietz of Dietz Hydroseeding Co., Van Nuys and the secretary for 1986 will be Jeff Frank of Herber S. Frank & Son, Belmont.

The California Landscape & Irrigation Council will be installing Charles R. Johnson as its new president this month. Johnson, president of California Landscape, Inc., Canoga Park, will succeed Mickey Strauss, president of American Landscape, Inc., also of Canoga Park. Klaus W. Ahlers of Carlacio Landscape, Inc., Placentia, has also been elected as president-elect, to automatically succeed to the presidency in 1987.

Laurie Feig

Valley Crest Tree Company, a subsidiary of Environmental Industries, has named Laurie Feig as its inside sales representative. Feig has been in the nursery industry for nine years and has a degree in ornamental horticulture from the University of Wisconsin at Madison.

Richard “Bud” Mack

A-G Sod Farms, Inc. has appointed Richard “Bud” Mack sales representative for A-G Sod Farms, Inc. Throughout Arizona, Mack will be responsible for sod sales and service to retail outlets and landscape firms. A native of Phoenix, Mack has worked in seed and garden supply sales in Arizona and Southern California. Most recently, he was involved in sales work for Valley Garden Supply in Phoenix.

Larry Keesen has been appointed chairman of the Nominating Committee for the National Board. Offices for 1986 will be established by Keesen and ballots forwarded to members this month. Any members wishing to participate should contact Keesen.

Related Stories

October 13, 2019, 6:43 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy