Keyword Site Search

NRPA 2017 National Award Winners Announced
12 Awards to be Presented at the 2017 NRPA Annual Conference


As part of the events at this year's 2017 NRPA Annual Conference, the 2017 National Award Winners will be announced. Twelve winners have been selected in categories that celebrate personal and professional contributions to the parks and recreation field.

The National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA) has announced the winners of its 2017 National Awards. Each year, the NRPA selects individuals who have who made personal and professional efforts to further the field of parks and recreation. Individuals are chosen to receive the awards based on excellence in a variety of topics such as professional and voluntary service, programming, leadership, research and public health.

The Robert W. Crawford Hall of Fame recognizes individual pioneers and leaders who have made extraordinary and lasting contributions to parks and recreation in the United States. Robert W. Crawford was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2001 for his lifelong contributions to park and recreation. He was pivotal in the formation of the NRPA and the National Recreation Foundation.

To be considered for the hall of fame, the nominee must have made an extraordinary and lasting contribution to the advancement of the park and recreation movement. The nominee must have also made those contributions in accordance with the mission of the National Recreation and Park Association, the American Academy of Park and Recreation Administration and predecessor organizations. Lastly, this award is a posthumous honor, no nominee will be considered until five years after his or her death. This year's Robert W. Crawford Recreation and Park Hall of Fame Award will be presented to Clifton French, the former executive director of the Minnesota Recreation & Park Association.

The 2017 award winners include:

Robert M. Artz Advocacy Award
Cora Masters Barry, Washington, DC

Robert W. Crawford Young Professional Award
Dr. Joshua T. Medeiros, Canton, Connecticut

RWJF-NRPA Award for Health Equity
Patricia Solano, Riverside, California

National Distinguished Professional Award
Phillip S. Rea, Raleigh, North Carolina

Theodore and Franklin Roosevelt Award for Excellence in Recreation and Park Research Award
Mark E. Havitz, Waterloo, Ontario

Excellence in Inclusion Award
Madison School & Community Recreation, Madison, Wisconsin

Excellence in Innovative Programming Award
Recreation and Park Commission for the Parish of East Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Facility or Park Design Award
Vigo County Parks and Recreation Department, Terre Haute, Indiana

Barb King Environmental Stewardship Award
Recreation and Park Commission for the Parish of East Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Kudos Marketing Award
Denver Parks and Recreation, Denver, Colorado

National Partnership Award
Durham Parks and Recreation, Durham, North Carolina

Robert W. Crawford Recreation and Park Hall of Fame Award
Clifton French, former executive director, Minnesota Recreation & Park Association

The 2017 award winners will be recognized during the NRPA Annual Conference on September 27. For more information visit

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

Search Site by Story Keywords

May 26, 2019, 3:18 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.