Keyword Site Search

OPEI New Officers & Directors

The OPEI, a non-profit organization that represents manufacturers and their suppliers of consumer and commercial outdoor power equipment announces the 2013-2014 officers and directors.
Photo Credit: Outdoor Power Equipment Institute

The Outdoor Power Equipment Institute (OPEI) announces the 2013-2014 officers and directors, and welcomes two new board members. Officers for the 2013-2014 year include: OPEI Chairman Todd Teske, Chairman, President & CEO, Briggs & Stratton Corp.; OPEI Vice Chair Paul Mullet, President, Excel Industries; and OPEI Secretary/Treasurer Lee Sowell, President - Outdoor Products, Techtronic Industries, N.A., Inc.

"OPEI is entering this new fiscal year stronger than ever, both organizationally and financially," said Kris Kiser, President and CEO of OPEI. "The OPEI Board reflects the impressive scope and breadth of our membership. Our membership is at a record high, representing small engine manufacturers with a range of power sources, utility vehicle manufacturers, and a myriad of small engine equipment manufacturers and suppliers serving a broad range of industries and uses."

"OPEI's long history and strong membership put us in a unique position to make sure we are bringing good quality high value products to the marketplace," said OPEI Chair, Todd Teske. "Our collective strength to influence legislation in order to protect our employees and consumers and to communicate accurate information about our industry will continue to be our focus into the future. For the over hundred million consumers who use our products, we want them to know we are working hard for them."

Continuing their service on the OPEI Board are: Immediate Past Chairman, Daniel Ariens, President & CEO, Ariens Company; Marc Dufour, President, Club Car; Peter Hampton, President, Active Exhaust Corporation; Jean Hlay, President and Chief Operating Officer, MTD Products Inc.; Steven Bly, Executive Vice President, Echo Inc; Ed Cohen, Vice President, Government & Industry Relations, Honda North America; Michael Hoffman, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, The Toro Company; Tim Merrett, Vice President, AT&T Global Platform Turf & Utility, Deere & Company; and Fred Whyte, President, Stihl Incorporated.

New to the board this year are Tom Cromwell, President, Kohler Engines, Kohler Company and John Cunningham, President, Consumer Products Group, Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.

For more information about OPEI, please visit

Association news and events are listed at To view the calendar of upcoming events, visit, go to the Associations/Events" tab and click on "Search for Events."

If your association has news and/or events that you would like featured on, please send your information via email to

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

Related Stories

November 22, 2019, 1:17 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy