Keyword Site Search

SARA Awards Chooses Judges
Project Submission Deadline Is August 3

SARA Awards Chooses Judges

The Society of American Registered Architects celebrates design excellence in multiple aspects of architecture and design through the SARAs, an annual National Design Awards Program.

The jury has been selected for the National Design Awards sponsored by the Society of American Registered Architects. Known as the SARAs, the program solicits entries from across the country and around the world from individuals, firms, and students of architecture and allied disciplines, including landscape architecture and planning.

The judges for this year's contest are:
Carol Ross Barney, FAIA, the founder of Ross Barney Architects, whose honors include six national American Institute of Architects Institute Honor Awards, two AIA Committee on the Environment Top Ten Project Awards, and the AIA Chicago Lifetime Achievement Award, the AIA Thomas Jefferson Award for Public Architecture and the AIA Illinois Gold Medal.

Juan Gabriel Moreno, AIA, president and founder of JGMA (Juan Gabriel Moreno Architects), named as one of the top design firms in the nation in Architect magazine's annual Top 50 in Design, and the only architecture firm to be awarded with three design awards at the 2015 AIA Chicago Designight Gala, including Distinguished Building, Interior Architecture, and Divine Detail.

Yolande Daniels, the Eero Saarinen Visiting Professor at Yale University, a visiting associate professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology Graduate School of Architecture, and co-founding design principal of studioSUMO, an architecture and design practice that has received awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Japan National Design Council, German National Design Council, Chicago Athenaeum, Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce, New York City AIA, and the New York State AIA.

Brian Lee, FAIA, a registered NCARB architect in multiple states, a LEED accredited professional, a member of the AIA's College of Fellows and a design partner at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP whose award-winning projects have been exhibited in the Venice and Beijing Biennales, World Architecture Festival, and Chicago Biennial.

Suzanne Marie Musho, founder, principal and creative director of the architecture firm MUSHO Architecture and Design, the chief architect and director of operations at The School at Columbia University and the vice president at Zubatkin Owner Representation where she is leading major projects including the new building at the American Museum of Natural History, and the Jackie Robinson Museum.

The deadline for student and professional registration and submission of projects is August 3. No project may be submitted which has previously received a SARA National Design Award, and all built projects must have been completed no earlier than 2012.

Award recipients will be notified by email by September 1, and the awards will be presented at the Architecture and Design Awards Celebration on Friday, November 1, 2019, in Chicago. The deadline to register for this event is September 30.

For all the rules, fee information, eligible categories and other details, visit

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

October 19, 2019, 8:23 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy