Keyword Site Search

STMA Announces Field of the Year Winners
Demonstrations of Field Safety and Playability

STMA Announces Field of the Year Winners

Pictured is the 5/3 Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University in Kennesaw, Georgia. 13 judges score entries based on a variety of factors including playability, surface appearance, and effective budget use.

STMA Announces Field of the Year Winners

Shane Hohlbein, CSFM and sport turf manager, is a "Field of the Year" award winner for the field featured above. Along with 11 other winners, Hohlbein will receive recognition at the STMA annual Awards Banquet.

This November, the Sports Turf Managers Association recognized the 2018 "Field of the Year" winners as those who manage sports fields and are committed to the safety of players and coaches. According to STMA, the award focuses on individuals who manage "baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, schools (K-12), and parks and recreation levels."

The winners at the professional level are:
• Baseball - CHS Field at St. Paul Saints (St. Paul, Minn.): Marcus Campbell, Sports Field Manager
• Soccer - Red Bull Arena at New York Red Bulls (Harrison, N.J.): Dan Shemesh, Director of Grounds

At the college and university level, the award recipients are:
• Baseball - Melching Field at Conrad Park at City of Deland (Deland, Fla.): Brad Keith, Sports Field Manager
• Football - Kenan Stadium at University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill, N.C.): Casey Carrick, CSFM, Director of Athletic Grounds and Turf Management
• Soccer - Merlo Field at University of Portland (Portland, Ore.): Kevin White, Athletic Field Manager
• Softball - Captains Park at Christopher Newport University (Newport News, Va.): Chris Webb, Assistant Director of Grounds
• Sporting Grounds - 5/3 Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University (Kennesaw, Ga.): Shane Hohlbein, CSFM, Sports Turf Manager

For schools and parks, the winners are as follows:
• Baseball - Norbrock Stadium at City of Kamloops (Kamloops, B.C.): Shawn Cook, Sports Field Manager
• Football - Donald Lambert Field at Brentsville District High School (Nokesville, Va.): Andrew Miller, Turfgrass Management Program Educator
• Soccer - Varsity Soccer Field at Avon High School (Avon, Ind.): Matt Dudley, Athletic Fields & Grounds Supervisor
• Softball - Blue Eagle Softball Complex at Clover School District (Clover, S.C.): Lee Clinton, CSFM, Sports Turf Supervisor
• Sporting Grounds - Pleasant View Championship Field at City of Boulder (Boulder, Colo.): Aaren LeMieux, Sports Field Manager

The winners of the award will receive a plaque and will be showcased in an issue in SportsTurf Magazine. The awards will also be presented at the STMA Conference & Exhibition in Phoenix, Ariz.

Comment Form is loading comments...

Search Site by Story Keywords

June 18, 2019, 7:02 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy