Keyword Site Search

Tommy Sasser to Receive Prestigious Perry Dye Service Award from GCBAA

The GCBAA, a nonprofit trade association for golf course builders, has honored Tommy Sasser with the exclusive Perry Dye Service Award.

The Golf Course Builders Association of America has selected Tommy Sasser to receive the Perry Dye Service Award -- an honor so exclusive it has only been bestowed four times prior. Sasser will be honored with the award at the upcoming annual GCBAA summer meeting, held the week of July 19 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Sasser, who does consulting as Recreational Community Consultants, was selected to receive the honor because of his commitment to the GCBAA and its membership, his volunteer leadership, and his willingness to represent the Association and the golf course construction industry.

"Tommy's leadership is second to none," said Justin Apel, GCBAA executive director. "I have served with Tommy in many capacities through the years. His knowledge of golf and commitment to the Association is incredible. His leadership has created many lasting allied relationships, and his influence on both our Association and our industry will be felt for years to come."

Rick Boylan, GCBAA president, added: "I met Tommy in 1982, and he immediately won my respect with his fairness and professional manner as he collaborated with the Golf Course Builders from the design side of projects. Later, Tommy joined the GCBAA as a builder, and has spent years serving our Association in many facets -- as a Board Member, President, Past President, and from his current role on our Board of Governors. Our association has greatly benefitted from Tommy -- from his friendship, guidance, leadership, and his tireless efforts to help position the GCBAA into the Association it is today."

After graduating from the University of Georgia with a degree in Forest Resources, Sasser began his career in 1971 with the Sea Pines Company building recreational facilities before being assigned to the Kiawah Island Company. It was there that Sasser first worked with Jack Nicklaus and in the summer of 1978, he was offered a position with the Nicklaus Design firm. He accepted and began his career in golf course design and construction with emphasis on construction.

Sasser joined the GCBAA in 1992, quickly establishing himself as a leader. He was elected to the Board of Directors and spent the next 14 years supporting the Association, including serving as President from 2004 to 2006. From 1999 to 2006, Sasser served as VP of Business Development with Weitz Golf International, helping establish the company in the golf course construction industry. In 2009 after serving as Vice President of Development for Reynolds Plantation, Sasser officially retired, but has been busy consulting ever since. He continues to be an active member of the Association by serving on the Board of Governors, a position he has held since 2008.

"I always felt like if I had something to give, I should give it, so that's what I've tried to do," Sasser said. "Golf course construction is a great profession. It's unique, and totally different than any other type of construction. The relationships are totally different. People outside golf don't understand that, and I'm not sure any of us could explain why it works. We're from different generations, locations and backgrounds -- such a diverse group of people. But when you put us all together at a meeting or event, we get along. The next week, we can go out to bid on a project and it's back to cutthroat business. Why? Because it is family. That is why I have stayed so involved."

The Perry Dye Service Award is given by the GCBAA to recognize a member who is an exceptional individual, who has been a loyal member of the Association, and who has unselfishly contributed their time and influence to foster positive changes for the Association. The award is named after Perry Dye, who during the early development years of the GCBAA exemplified these types of characteristics when he provided financial assistance to stabilize the GCBAA.

This is only the fifth time the Perry Dye Service Award has been granted. Previous recipients include Perry Dye (2005), Jim Kirchdorfer, Sr. (2006), Rick Elyea (2010), and Steve Christman (2013).

Association news and events are listed at To view the calendar of upcoming events, visit, go to the "Associations/Events" tab and click on "Search for Events."

If your association has news and/or events that you would like featured on, please send your information via email to

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

Search Site by Story Keywords

Related Stories

August 20, 2019, 10:01 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy