Keyword Site Search

Urban Excellence Design Award Calls for Entries
Landscape Architects Eligible to Enter

Urban Excellence Design Award Calls for Entries

Since its founding in 1986, the Rudy Bruner Award of Urban Exceldslence has recognized and documented 83 projects from across the contiguous United States.

The Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence (RBA) has issued a call for applications. RBA is a national design award that celebrates built environments that contribute to the economic, environmental and social success of American cities. One Gold Medal ($50,000 cash prize) and four Silver Medals ($10,000 cash prize) are awarded biennially.

To be eligible, a project must:
• Be a real place, not just a plan or program.
• Have been in operation for a sufficient amount of time to demonstrate success, since site visits are integral to the award process.
• Be located in the contiguous United States.
• Be located in an urban environment, which is broadly defined to include cities, towns, villages, neighborhoods, counties and/or regions.

Applications may be submitted by anyone involved with the project. Submissions for the 2019 RBA are due December 12, 2018 at midnight EST. Once submissions are closed, the five finalists will be notified of their status in February of 2019. Site visits to finalists will take place between February and May. The Gold and Silver Medal Winners will be selected and notified in June, and presentations of the Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence will be made in Fall of 2019.

To learn more about RBA and to submit a project, visit

Comment Box is loading comments...

November 18, 2019, 11:17 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy