Keyword Site Search

ASLA Has Announced 2017 Honors Recipients
Charles Birnbaum, FASLA, to Receive ASLA Medal, Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Ltd. Wins Firm Award


The 2017 ASLA honors will be presented at the president's dinner on October 23, held during the 2017 ASLA Annual Meeting & EXPO, October 20-23, in Los Angeles.

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has announced its 2017 honors recipients. Selected by ASLA's board of trustees, the honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year.

2017 Honors

ASLA Medal: Charles Birnbaum, FASLA
Charles Birnbaum, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Medal, the society's highest award for a landscape architect. Over the years, Birnbaum has methodically dedicated himself to the task of preserving designed landscapes and the narratives and individuals responsible for their creation. As the CEO and founder of The Cultural Landscape Foundation (TCLF), he has developed a powerful vehicle that is an important advocate for the profession and has grown tremendously in influence. Ultimately, what Birnbaum and TCLF have been able to accomplish is transformative in recognizing the potential of landscape to thrill, heal and inspire.

ASLA Design Medal: Gary Hilderbrand, FASLA
Gary Hilderbrand, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Design Medal in recognition of his exceptional design work. Hilderbrand is an extraordinarily gifted designer, teacher, critic and author. The projects he has designed with his partner Doug Reed and their Reed Hilderbrand staff are memorable and moving, fitting and unexpected. Hilderbrand has successfully realized the highest level of craftsmanship, design excellence and responsible sustainability across a broad spectrum of project types including public and private gardens, campuses, museums and urban spaces. Projects under his design leadership include Arnold Arboretum Leventritt Garden in Boston, Long Dock Park in Beacon, N.Y., and Clark Institute in Williamstown, Mass.

Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Elizabeth K. Meyer, FASLA
Elizabeth K. Meyer, FASLA, will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal for significant and sustained excellence in landscape architecture education. She is a renowned teacher whose critical thinking, student mentoring and inspiration have catalyzed outstanding practitioners across generations. Meyer began teaching at the University of Virginia in 1993 after positions at the Harvard Graduate School of Design, George Washington University and Cornell University. At the University of Virginia, she has not only demonstrated a tireless commitment to advancing pedagogy but also served as chair of landscape architecture three times and as dean of the School of Architecture.

LaGasse Medal - Landscape Professional: Kenneth Bahlinger, ASLA
Kenneth Bahlinger, ASLA, will receive the LaGasse Medal for contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources and public landscapes. He is an award-winning landscape architect who has worked for the state of Louisiana restoring coastal wetlands for 26 years. Through his professional work, he has made significant contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources through work he has done and leadership he has provided on the Coast Vegetative Planting Program, the Christmas Tree Program, as the landscape of record on vegetation plantings on state restoration projects, and more recently as a senior project manager of multiple large-scale restoration projects.

LaGasse Medal - Non-Landscape Professional: Janette Sadik-Khan, Hon. ASLA
Janette Sadik-Khan will receive the LaGasse Medal for contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources and public landscapes. As commissioner of the New York City Department of Transportation from 2007 to 2013, Sadik-Khan led one of the greatest transformation efforts within the public realm of New York City in over 50 years. Today, she has become an influential voice for making bicyclists and pedestrians a priority with the urban environment and transportation network. As chair of the National Association of City Transportation Officials (NACTO), and other influential organizations, Sadik-Khan continues to advocate and share her vision for making urban spaces better for all. This award also conveys honorary membership in the society, as noted by the suffix above.

For more information including all of the nominating and supporting information for this year's recipients, visit

Comment Form is loading comments...

December 12, 2019, 8:16 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.
Privacy Policy